Snow

The icing on top of us is snow

it coats our shoulders, hat and nose.

We are not alone, foreign to aliens

common to few.

We are not rain, nor a cloud full of scorn

we are dew.

Morning’s innocence we are holding dear the glimmer within.

White flags wave above us

I chose you, to carry my love around

Well, I must be vain and stubborn still

to believe I contributed to our fate

I still claim I called you mine and

mine you’ve become.

But no

neither does the moon choose to be a mirror

the sun never complied to be the fire

we all just are.

therefore you are

therefore I am

a single, simple melody

a besung script

but I shall not skip the ornament of chance

I will not spoil our tale with stories of greater things

because we are what this is

we should love things

by which we are not missed.

Leave a Reply

